French referee Mathieu Raynal, criticized after his decision made in the last seconds of the Australia-New Zealand match that resulted in the All Blacks winning in extremis (39-37) during matchday 5 of the Rugby Championship, said on Monday at night “to take over” your choice. During a Rugby Night that he had just consecrated to him as the best French referee.
“I always assume what I do, I assume this decision 100%, I had the necessary reasons to make it”said the Catalan, chosen “best referee” of the Top 14 on Monday night. On 15 September, with Australia leading 37-32, Mathieu Raynal awarded Australia a penalty at the foot of their posts. But, believing that Australian fly half Bernard Foley was trying to buy time by delaying the ball clearance, he decided to cancel the penalty and order a five-yard scrum instead, challenged by New Zealand, resulting in the further test of victory. beyond the regulation time of the All Blacks, to whom defeat seemed promised. “Although it is a strong decision, which makes people talk, it makes a lot of noise, but I try to free myself from these contexts, under pressure, and do what seems fairest to me: it is the heart of my work. and sometimes it generates controversy, frustrations, but I assume what I do”added the French referee.
When asked about the controversy that followed in Australia, Mathieu Raynal said that after “Deleted all newspaper apps, social media – I only had Candy Crush (a game, editor’s note) and the time on my phone”. “So I didn’t follow what happened, because I know what I believe, and to protect myself from that, it was the best way. I wanted to focus on the second game that I had to do.”he added. “My work stops once I walk off the court and (my) decision, when discussed, is not something I want to get into”Mathieu Raynal estimated.
Reflecting on this key moment in the match between Australia and New Zealand, the referee recalled: “It passes quickly but I am lucid: if I make this decision it is because I have reasons to do so”. “In this case, I warned a player five times to kick the ball into touch and at some point I couldn’t do anything else: it wasn’t me who chose to make that decision, it’s the player who forced me to make it. which is a little different”He explained. “I do what seems good to me on the pitch and I’ll take it on later”concluded the French.