Civiglio returns to the final of the Tour of Lombardy 2022

The Tour of Lombardy, the last Monument of the season, will end in Como next Saturday (October 8), during a demanding finale with the mythical climb to Civiglio and a double ascent to San Fermo della Battaglia.

After Tadej Pogacar’s victory in Bergamo last year In an unusual route, the Tour of Lombardy alternates as the “Dead Leaves Classic” will end this time on the shores of Lake Como (as it happened between 2017 and 2020) at the end of a demanding route (253 km).

The event will start this time from Bergamo and offer the peloton a series of five climbs in the pre-alps around the city during the first half of the route. A flat section will then lead the runners to Lake Como, from where they will head off to climb the famous Ghisallo pass (9.4km at 6%, steps at 14%) and its sanctuary, which has become a place of pilgrimage for cyclists.

Afterwards, a rapid descent will take them to the final circuit where they will climb San Fermo della Battaglia for the first time (2.8 km at 6.6%), they will cross the finish line for the first time and then climb the mythical Civiglio (4.1 km at 9.8%) before attacking San Fermo for the second time, whose summit will be located just five kilometers from the finish line.

The der’ of Nibali and Valverde

The route therefore avoids, like last year, the Mur de Sormano and its dangerous descent where many runners have fallen, sometimes seriously, like Remco Evenepoel who fell into the ravine in 2020. Belgian boy crowned world champion on sundaywill not be at the start of the event this year.

On the other hand, there should be Tadej Pogacar, the outgoing winner, but also Jonas Vingegaard, Julian Alaphilippe, Mathieu van der Poel, David Gaudu and Romain Bardet. The Tour of Lombardy 2022 will also be the last race for two world cycling giants, Vincenzo Nibali (winner in 2015 and 2017) and Alexander Valverde (three times second), who will end his race next Saturday.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *